New Chair for Kamloops-Thompson Board of Education

Posted On Tuesday November 09, 2021

Heather Grieve and Meghan Wade were acclaimed as Chair and Vice-Chair respectively of the Kamloops-Thompson Board of Education during the mid-term Inaugural Board Meeting held Monday, Nov. 8, 2021.    

“Thank you to our Board of Education for supporting me as your new Chair,” said the newly appointed Grieve. “I look forward to meeting the needs of our community, students, parents, and staff. As Chair, I will offer leadership to move forward with our Board’s priorities in excellence and equity for every student in rural and urban communities.”  

Grieve is serving her first term as a trustee. Representing Kamloops, she was nominated by former Board Chair, Rhonda Kershaw. Grieve has served on the Education Committee of the Whole, Student Advisory Committee, Human Resources Committee, and the KTTA Joint Labour Committee.   

 “Heather has a keen sense of humour and intellect, and we have a very positive working relationship,” said Superintendent Rhonda Nixon. “I look forward to working with Chair Grieve to bring about the best outcomes for students and staff in our District,”   

Meghan Wade returns as Vice-Chair following a nomination by Chair Grieve. Experienced at many levels of the Board’s work, Wade is serving her fourth term as a trustee.  

John O’Fee will remain as the SD73 representative on the provincial council of the BC School Trustees Association, while Cara McKelvey, nominated by Trustee Wade, was acclaimed as the Board representative for the BC Public Sector Employers’ Association.   

The nine trustees will serve until the next general local election which takes place on the third Saturday in October every four years. The next General Local Elections are scheduled for Saturday, Oct.15, 2022.  

Contact Us